My legs are sore as they always are the days after thursters.  So I am going to write  a little about my diet plan.

I am doing the leangains approach to intermediate fasting, which is I fast for 16 hours between the last meal of the day and the first meal of the day.  So this is usually around 7:30 to 11:30 on non workout days.  I do this for several reasons.  First off I am not normally hungry in the morning in the first place and I cannot think of any reason to eat when you are not hungry.  I also prefer to workout on an empty stomach.  When I switched from working out at 8:00 am to 12:00 P.M this kind of just happened naturally, instead of forcing myself to eat breakfast I decided to wait until after my workout to eat.  I do now take some BCAA’s before I workout mainly for protein synthesis.

As far as the substance of my diet I try and follow a mostly Paleo diet.  Which is no grains, no legumes, no dairy.  Many people who follow the paleo diet also eat only organic vegetables and meats (grass fed beef free range chicken etc…)  I have tried this and although I believe in the benefits the results did not justify the extra cost for the food.  I also eat some processed meats, mainly bacon because I love it.  I am not into making paleo pancakes, pies, bread, bars, or any of that nonsense, to me it defeats the purpose of the diet and  I dont believe they could be that much healthier than just a regular sweet treat.  I don’t eat sweets regularly so this is not a big deal to me.  I have been moderately successful following this diet for periods of time and have had great results when doing so.  I tend to just go crazy if I veer off it at all so that’s why I am writing down everything I eat.  My goal is to find some sort of middle ground where I can do three days on one day off or something like that.

Though I am not an expert on fasting or metabolism I have figured out what works for optimum physical performance, weight control and muscle building through trial and error as well as research I have done on my own and with the help of others.

For more information on intermediate fasting visit http://www.leangains.com/

For more information on the paleo diet visit  http://robbwolf.com/

